Hi everyone,

Sorry for being silent for such a long time but I’ve been quiet busy since I came home with a lot of unexpected work and assignments waiting for me. I will try to post more later about all this but for the moment I just wanted to share a super time I had with my wife last sunday night when she had the great idea to take me to Cholon for the Mid-Autumn Festival.

For those who are not too familiar with Ho Chi Minh City, Cholon is Vietnam’s largest Chinatown with roots dating back to 1778. And it definitely is a place of great historical and cultural importance.

But what is important now is that this is the period of Chinese festival. After checking a bit on the web, I came to know that the Mid-Autumn Festival (Colloquially known as Tet Trung Thu), is a major local occasion, with one of its liveliest celebrations here in Ho Chi Minh City. Primarily geared towards children, activities like lantern processions are held on a big scale during the festival. Gift boxes of mooncakes, lanterns and money are often exchanged among friends and family.

A huge crowd was there, so hard sometimes just to walk a couple of steps. Lots of cameras too, actually hundreds of cameras for what appeared to me to be a perfect place to practice night shots. And the atmosphere was just so great and so full of joy that I rapidly got caught in it… I really had to come back with some pictures.

I’ll be back there next week end for what will be the last hours of this festival. So if you see a guy with a very big flashing nose behind a camera it’s me !!!! 😀

But now picture time :

If you’re around HCMC you really should go.

Bye bye 🙂

